Tutus!

Silver, light blue, and a kind of sea-foam that's hard to see in this photo but if you click for the full size it's easier to pick out.

Silver, light blue, and a kind of sea-foam that’s hard to see in this photo but if you click for the full size it’s easier to pick out. It turned out so pretty!

So I got this great fabric that’s not just tulle, it has metallic thread woven all through in an almost random pattern to produce a cool almost cobweb type of effect. It’s softer than the plain netting and has a lot of sparkle without shedding glitter everywhere so it’s basically the best thing in the world.

I used quilting supplies including my mat, ruler, and rotary cutter to make nice even strips and tied them onto a piece of elastic measured to fit my waist.

To be fair, this was in no way the most elaborate tutu made at the party on Sunday, but it was much coveted because it’s awesome.

Also, there were two people with glitter tulle and it’s my understanding that even after mopping the tile in the room we’d been working in it was still a ridiculous amount of glitter everywhere. So this was pretty much worth the extra expense. I mean… $25 in materials? That’s ridiculous when you can buy a tutu for cheaper. Especially for me, as my bf works at Party City and can get me discounts. (Weird that this will be our 3rd Halloween together and I still don’t have any slutty costumes. I mean, really?)

 

Leave a Reply

